top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily L.

Adjusting!

Updated: Jul 13, 2019

I have finally arrived in the Philippines and after living here for about a week, I am almost adjusted. Cultural shock is ever-present, but I'm enjoying every second of it. Not only do I get to interact with the culture first-hand, but I get to do what I love at the same time (provide nursing care)!


I'm currently living with the best host parents and the best roommate! Elia and I have the entire 2nd floor of the house to ourselves and have felt so welcomed. Our host parents, Kuya Toto and Ate Brenda, have been very accommodating at making us feel at home and showing us how to use public transportation (Jeepneys). They even took us for a day trip to Manila! We definitely feel like family.


So far Elia and I have enjoyed cooking, working out daily, figuring out how to hand-wash our clothes, shopping at the market, and our daily commutes on the Jeepneys. Can't wait to share more in my next post!

Home!

21 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page