top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily L.

Last day at Cabrini

So my internship at Cabrini has come to an end and it has been such an incredible learning experience. This post will be short since I only spent 4 days in the ICU. I learned how to give NG tube feedings, provide suctioning, read ECGs, assess critical patients and document. The ICU nurses were incredibly helpful in explaining the pathophysiology of various diseases and the pharmacology of various medications. In the ICU, the nurse:patient ratio is about 1:2 and they also are responsibility to monitor patients on telemetry. Overall, the ICU nurses are usually incredibly busy despite only have 1-2 patients. They spend the majority of their time at the bedside or contacting various healthcare providers. The technology they have in the ICU is pretty modern compared to the other units. They have technology such as IV pumps, mechanical ventilation and NICU beds.


I'll miss my friends at Cabrini and Elia and I's daily banana cue run. The nurses were incredibly hospitable and went out of their way to make sure I had a great time. Being able to compare the medical system in Spain, the Philippines, Hawaii and the US has made me into a more well-rounded and culturally competent individual. I am thankful for Dr. Amoloza and the Freeman Foundation for making my Philippines internship possible. Until next time, Cabrini!



13 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Words of the week x5

I've been neglecting my "words of the week" posts so here's an update! I've been working in the hospital for over 2 months now, and naturally, some of the language used is different than what I'm used

bottom of page