top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily L.

Words of the Week!

Kuya - brother

Ate - sister

Tito - uncle

Tita - aunt


Filipino culture values respect and uses titles to show reverence for someone else. Titles are especially important when addressing someone who is older than you. I have highlighted some titles above since those are the ones I have used most frequent. For example, my host mom's name is Brenda. It would be rude and disrespectful if I simply addressed her as Brenda. I call her "Ate Brenda," not because she is my literal sister, but because it is an endearing and respectful term. Never forget the importance of titles when visiting the Philippines! It's a sure way to put a smile on someones face and show that you're here to respect the culture.








3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Words of the week x5

I've been neglecting my "words of the week" posts so here's an update! I've been working in the hospital for over 2 months now, and naturally, some of the language used is different than what I'm used

Word of the Week x4

Masarap - delicious Always let your host know that you like what they provided by saying "masarap" and giving a thumbs up and a big smile :D

Word of the Week x3

Gulay - vegetables Being vegetarian in the Philippines has proven to be very difficult given that Filipinos love meat! Most of their dishes include some sort of meat, most commonly pork. However, Fili

bottom of page