top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily L.

Word of the Week x3

Gulay - vegetables


Being vegetarian in the Philippines has proven to be very difficult given that Filipinos love meat! Most of their dishes include some sort of meat, most commonly pork. However, Filipinos are very accommodating and generous. Elia and I frequent a local restaurant for lunch and all we say is "gulay?" and they are quick to make us some fresh vegetables (with rice of course).

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Words of the week x5

I've been neglecting my "words of the week" posts so here's an update! I've been working in the hospital for over 2 months now, and naturally, some of the language used is different than what I'm used

Word of the Week x4

Masarap - delicious Always let your host know that you like what they provided by saying "masarap" and giving a thumbs up and a big smile :D

Words of the Week x2!

Salamat - thank you Paki - please Po - ????? As stated in my first post, Filipino culture values respect and also avoids conflict at all costs. Salamat and paki are 2 very important words to include i

bottom of page